Why use secure deletion?

Операционные системы фактически не удаляют содержимое файла при его удалении, даже после очистки корзины или явного удаления файла, например, из командной строки.

Instead, they simply remove the file's entry from the file system directory, because this requires less work and is therefore faster. The contents of the file—the actual data—remain on the storage medium. The data will remain there until the operating system reuses the space for new data.

Аналогично: переформатирование, разбиение на разделы или переустановка операционной системы не всегда гарантируют запись в каждую область диска. Все эти действия, впрочем, приведут к тому, что диск будет казаться пустым или почти пустым.

Finally, even when the storage medium is overwritten, physical properties of the medium might make it possible to recover the previous contents. In most cases however, this recovery is not possible by just reading from the storage device in the usual way, but requires using laboratory techniques such as disassembling the device and directly accessing/reading from its components.

To learn more, see the Wikipedia article on data erasure.

Warning about USB sticks and SSDs

Secure deletion is not as reliable on USB sticks and SSDs (solid-state drive) as it is on traditional hard disks.

USB sticks and SSDs sometimes copy the same data to various memory cells to extend the lifetime of the device. USB sticks and SSDs also have 10–20% of spare memory cells for the same reason.

As a consequence, part of the data from a given file might still be written on the device even after securely deleting it.

This data could be recovered using advanced data forensics techniques, for example by professional data recovery services.

To mitigate this risk, you can:

  • Encrypt the device before use, to make it hard to recover any data.

  • Securely delete the entire device. Some old data might still be present in the spare memory cells.

  • Physically destroy the device.

Securely deleting files

Надёжное удаление файла ещё не означает удаление возможных резервных копий файла. Например, LibreOffice создает резервные копии, которые помогут восстановить работу, если программа зависнет.

  1. Откройте файловый менеджер Файлы.

  2. Перейдите в папку с файлами, которые хотите удалить.

  3. С помощью мыши выберите файлы, которые хотите удалить.

  4. Щёлкните правой кнопкой мыши (на компьютере Mac щёлкните двумя пальцами) по файлам и выберите Затереть.

  5. Подтвердите.

  6. The deletion will start. It can last from a few seconds to several minutes, according to the size of the files. Be patient…

Securely cleaning available disk space

Такое действие понадобиться, чтобы навсегда избавиться от файлов, которые ранее были удалены обычным способом. Можно очистить всё свободное пространство на диске.

The disk or the folder can contain other files. Those files will not be deleted during the operation.

  1. Откройте файловый менеджер Файлы.

  2. В левой панели щёлкните по диску, который хотите очистить. Перейдите в корневую папку этого диска.

  3. Click on the Menu button in the right corner of the title bar and choose Show Hidden Files.

  4. Если хотите очистить корзину, удалите папку .Trash-1000 или аналогичную папку.

  5. Щёлкните правой кнопкой мыши (на компьютере Mac щёлкните двумя пальцами) по пустому пространству в правой панели и выберите Wipe available diskspace.

  6. Подтвердите.

  7. The cleaning starts. It can last from a few minutes to a few hours, according to the size of the available diskspace. Be patient…

    Обратите внимание, что в папке появился файл с именем вроде tmp.7jwhaybva9. Этот файл максимально большой и занимает всё доступное дисковое пространство. В конце он будет надёжным образом удалён.

Securely erasing an entire device

  1. Откройте утилиту Диски.

    Все подключённые носители данных видны в левой панели.

  2. Подключите флешку или SSD-накопитель, который хотите надёжно стереть.

  3. В списке слева появится новое устройство. Щёлкните по нему:

  4. Убедитесь, что описание в правой части окна соответствует вашему носителю: модель, объём и т.д.

  5. Click on the Menu button in the titlebar and choose Format Disk… to erase all the existing partitions on the device.

  6. Появится диалог Форматировать диск.

    • Choose to Overwrite existing data with zeroes in the Erase menu.

    • Choose Compatible with all systems and devices (MBR/DOS) in the Partitioning menu.

  7. Click Format….

  8. В диалоговом окне убедитесь, что устройство выбрано верно. Нажмите Форматировать для подтверждения.